Archive for category Award of Excellence

2013 Award of Excellence Recipient – Reba Peden, PP, PLS

By Allison Streepey, B.A., CRS, PLS (originally published in @Law – Winter 2013-14) “Outgoing, fun, friendly, serious, hard working, determined” are words used to describe Reba Peden, PP, PLS, the 2013 NALS Award of Excellence (AoE) recipient. It is easy to understand why. Reba has worked in the legal profession for over 27 years and […]

, , , , , ,

No Comments

NALS Award of Excellence

Frequently Asked Questions |  Past Award Recipients |  Rules/Regulations The NALS Award of Excellence is presented annually to recognize outstanding achievement in association leadership and professional development. It is the top honor a member can receive from NALS. This award began in 1957 and was then called the Legal Secretary of the Year. The name was changed […]

, , , ,

No Comments

2012 Award of Excellence Recipient – Cheryl Summerhill, PLS

By Terry Houston, PP Emerita (originally published in @Law – Winter 2012-13) When I offered to prepare this article about the 2012 NALS Award of Excellence recipient, I expected to need hours of interview time with the candidate to expand my limited knowledge of her background. I need not have worried about that. All I […]

, , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

2011 Award of Excellence Recipient – Cathy Hankins, PP, PLS

By  Betty Wells, PP, PLS, TSC-RE (originally published in @Law – Winter 2011-12) When Harrison Ford received the Cecil B. DeMille Award in 2002, he wrote two speeches, a long one and a short one. When Cathy Hankins won the NALS Award of Excellence, she wrote one speech. She gave a short one—thank you! She […]

, , , , , , , , , , ,

No Comments

2010 Award of Excellence Recipient – Mary Jo Denman, PP, PLS

By  Betty Wells, PP, PLS, TSC-RE(originally published in @Law – Winter 2010-2011     A few years ago, a NALS President named Mary Jo Denman presented the NALS Award of Excellence to a humbled Patti Infanti, PP, PLS. This year, it was a humbled Mary Jo Denman receiving the NALS Award of Excellence from NALS […]

, , , , , , , , , , ,

No Comments