legal, assistant, certification, national, paralegal, national, recognized, ABA, certified, secretary, education
| Online Store
Community Search
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join NALS
Community Search
Certified Legal Professional (CLP) Exam Details
The CLP® is the designation for lawyer’s assistants who want to be identified as exceptional. Certification is received after passing a one-day, four-part examination which demonstrates not only dedication to professionalism but acceptance of the challenge to be exceptional. Personal motivation is necessary to attain such a goal.The purpose of the examination is to certify a lawyer’s assistant as a person who possesses:

·         a mastery of office skills;

·         the ability to interact on a professional level with attorneys, clients, and other support staff;

·         the discipline to assume responsibility and exercise initiative and judgment; and,

·         a working knowledge of procedural law, the law library, and how to prepare legal documents.


 The Exam Covers

PART 1: Communications 
PART 2: The Law Firm: Office Procedures and Knowledge 
PART 3: Legal Ethics and Authority
PART 4: Substantive Law, Legal Procedure & Document Preparation


Please review NALS Certification Exam Resource Manual for a detailed list of exam content.  

Examination Guidelines

The PLS/CLP Exam consists of 4 parts structured as follows:

Part 1: Communication

            60 minutes

Part 2: The Law Firm: Office Procedures and Knowledge

            60 minutes

Part 3: Legal Ethics and Authority  

            50 minutes

Part 4: Substantive Law, Legal Procedure and Document Preparation

            70 minutes


All four parts of the examination are multiple choice and must be taken on the first attempt. If you do not pass the entire examination on the first attempt, but do pass one or more parts, you may retake the part (or parts) you failed. All failed parts must be retaken at the same time. There is a two year limit in which to retest. Those passing the exam will receive a certificate which is valid for five years. Recertification is required every five years and may be achieved through the accumulation of continuing legal education hours and activities.


more Calendar

11/1/2019 » 3/31/2020
NALS Recertification Amnesty Period

11/17/2019 » 4/1/2020
NALS Fall 2019 Legal Olympics

3/1/2020 » 3/31/2020
March 2020 Online CLP Exam


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal