This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
| Online Store
Community Search
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join NALS
Community Search
NALS Award of Excellence

The NALS Award of Excellence is presented annually to recognize outstanding achievement in association leadership and professional development. It is the top honor a member can receive from NALS. This award began in 1957 and was then called the Legal Secretary of the Year. The name was changed in 1994 to better reflect the membership of NALS and to be more inclusive of those being honored.


Eligibility Requirements:

- Must be a member of NALS with at least three years of legal experience (except current members of NALS Board of Directors, current NALS Award of Excellence Chair, and former first place winners).

- Must be engaged in work of a legal nature, in accordance with NALS Bylaws.

- Must have a minimum of three years’ service to a local chartered chapter, state association or NALS.



Deadline to Nominate is May 1.


Past Award Recipients

Award of Excellence

2018  Kerie Trindle Byrne, PP, PLS-SC, CP (AZ) 
2017 Debra A. Taylor, PP, PLS-SC (OR)
2016 – Marcie Carter, PP, PLS-SC (OR)
2015 – Kathleen R. Amirante, PP, PLS (MI)
2014 – Tara Hughes, PP-SC, ACP (AZ)
2013 – Reba Peden, PP, PLS (MS)
2012 – Cheryl Summerhill, PLS (AR)
2011 – Catherine A. Hankins, PP, PLS (OH)
2010 – Mary Jo Denman, PP, PLS (GA)
2009 – Karen McElroy, PP, PLS (AZ)
2008 – Mary Burns, PP, PLS (WI)
2007 – Jeannie Shaw, PP, PLS (MS)
2006 – Karen Kuhn, PP, PLS (MS)
2005 – Patricia Infanti, PP, PLS (PA)
2004 – Shirley Vanderbeck, PP, PLS, CL§, CLA, CNSA, CM (CA)
2003 – Betty G. Wells, PP, PLS, TSC (TX)
2002 – Helene Wood, PP, PLS (TX)
2001 – Marlene Oiler, PP, PLS (NJ)
2000 – Debbie Nickerson, PP, PLS (ME)
1999 – Janice Miller, PLS, CPS (AR)
1998 – Mae Humphries, PLS, CLA (AR)
1997 – Marie Schoenfeldt, PLS, CLA (AR)
1996 – Cathy Underwood, PLS, CLA (AR)
1995 – Sandra Morton, PLS (GA)
1994 – Sandra Yost, PLS (IL)

Legal Secretary of the Year

1993 – Sunny Shuping, PLS (FL)
1992 – Marie Murray, PLS (FL)
1991 – Nancy M. Monson, PLS (WA)
1990 – Judith B. Warren, PLS (CA)
1989 – Ruth Copeland, PLS (MS)
1988 – Richard Kokochak, PLS (MI)
1987 – Margaret J. Scott, PLS, CLA (MI)
1986 – Shirley Burns-Taylor, PLS (IL)
1985 – Kaye Aoki, PLS (UT)
1984 – Teresa Hartzog, PLS (MT)
1983 – Dolph L. Parker, PLS (AR)
1982 – Bobbie D. Jones, PLS (AR)
1981 – Mary Hafenstine, PLS (KS)
1980 – Druann Wiley, PLS (TX)
1979 – Donna M. Jergens, PLS, CPS (IA)
1978 – Marilyn Johnson, PLS (KS)
1977 – Violet E. McNew, PLS, CLA (CO)
1976 – Nancy Mikacevich, PLS, (CA)
1975 – Maurene Christensen, PLS (WI)
1974 – Helen Kolbe, PLS (NJ)
1973 – Harriet Smith Bennett, PLS (SC)
1972 – Clara Lagow, PLS (TX)
1971 – Haru Hains (NJ)
1970 – Mariann Farhat, PLS (MI)
1969 – Julianna D. Parr, PLS (TX)
1968 – Merlene Schultz (AL)
1967 – Mildred Fricke Root (IL)
1966 – Harold Beyea, PLS (NY)
1965 – Anita Ponder (LA)
1964 – Grace Walvoord (CA)
1963 – Hazel Jones (KS)
1962 – Mabel Roshton (LA)
1961 – Minnie Lundwall (ND)
1960 – Rhoda V. Polley, PLS (CA)
1959 – Elizabeth Rast (TX)
1958 – Elena Rapp, PLS (TX)
1957 – Jean Hecker (CA)


NALS Award of Excellence Nomination Form

Please fill in the information below to the best of your ability in order to nominate someone for the NALS Award of Excellence, the most prestigious award given by NALS.

more Calendar

3/21/2018 » 3/21/2019
NALS 2018 Online Leadership Course + Discussion

11/1/2018 » 1/31/2019
Law and Odor 5k/10k

11/5/2018 » 5/7/2019
NALS Fall Legal-Lympics

Amylyn Riedling PP PLS-SC2018 NALS Board of Directors
Nakia A. Bradley-Lawson2018 NALS Board of Directors

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal